Ontario Energy Board

P.O. Box 2319 2300 Yonge Street 26th Floor

Toronto, ON M4P 1E4 Telephone: (416) 481-1967 Commission de l'Énergie de l'Ontario

CP. 2319 2300, rue Yonge 26e étage

Toronto (ON) M4P 1E4 Téléphone: (416) 481-1967 Facsimile: (416) 440-7656 Télécopieur: (416) 440-7656

Chair Président



August 8, 2003

Mr. Dave Goulding, President, Independent Electricity Market Operator 655 Bay Street Suite 410, PO Box 1 Toronto, Ontario M5G 2K4

Mr. Thomas Parkinson President, Hydro One Inc. 483 Bay Street 10th Floor Reception Toronto, Ontario M5G 2P5

Dear Messrs Goulding and Parkinson

The Market Surveillance Panel's report of July 3, 2003, Constrained Off Payments and other Issues in the Management of Congestion, recommended that the Independent Electricity Market Operator (IMO), Hydro One, and the Ontario Energy Board (OEB, or the Board) "each assign a small number of knowledgeable staff who, working together under the leadership of the OEB, will develop a Memorandum of Understanding that sets out appropriate roles and responsibilities for the IMO, Hydro One, and the OEB in facilitating transmission planning and the approval of projects aimed at enhancing efficiency in the context of a competitive marketplace." The report recommends that a draft Memorandum of Understanding be submitted to the Boards of the three organizations by end December, 2003.

The Board has decided to undertake this initiative and I hope you will also agree to participate. If so, I would like to ask you to nominate two or three staff persons from within your organizations to participate in the working group. Please have them identify themselves to Neil McKay, Manager, Facilities (416-440-7634, Neil.Mckay@oeb.gov.on.ca), or David Brown, Senior Advisor, Market Surveillance (416-440-8123, david.brown@oeb.gov.on.ca).

Mr. McKay and Mr. Brown will serve as staff coordinators for this working group and they will proceed to organize its first meeting once your nominations are in. This project will be under the OEB sponsorship of Mr. Paul Vlahos, Vice Chair of the OEB. The Board may also consider the need for participation of other parties (such as non-Hydro One licenced transmitters) on to the working group.

I look forward to receiving your nominations at your earliest convenience and to working with you on this important initiative.

Yours sincerely,

original signed by

Howard Wetston, Q.C., Chair Ontario Energy Board

c.c. James C. Baillie Rita Burak