Ontario Energy Board P.O. Box 2319 27th Floor 2300 Yonge Street Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Telephone: 416- 481-1967 Facsimile: 416- 440-7656 Toll free: 1-888-632-6273

Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario C.P. 2319 27e étage 2300, rue Yonge Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Téléphone; 416-481-1967 Télécopieur: 416-440-7656 Numéro sans frais: 1-888-632-6273



VIA E-MAIL AND WEB POSTING

October 30, 2012

- To: All Participants in Consultations EB-2010-0377, EB-2010-0378, EB-2010-0379, EB-2011-0043 and EB-2011-0004 All Licensed Electricity Transmitters and Distributors All Other Interested Stakeholders
- Re: Renewed Regulatory Framework Selection of Working Group Members Board File Nos.: EB-2010-0377, EB-2010-0378, EB-2010-0379, EB-2011-0043 and EB-2011-0004

On October 18, 2012, the Board issued its "Report of the Board: A Renewed Regulatory Framework for Electricity Distributors: A Performance Based Approach." A copy of the Report is available on the Board's website at <u>www.ontarioenergyboard.ca</u>.

In the cover letter to its Report (the "October 18th Letter"), the Board announced that work will now commence on implementation of the Renewed Regulatory Framework. Specifically, it was noted that three new stakeholder working groups would be established to assist staff by providing knowledge and experience that will be of assistance in the development of proposals regarding the implementation matters identified in Chapters 3 and 4 of the Board's Report, and that the Smart Grid working group would be reconvened. The Letter also stated that stakeholder members of the working groups would be selected by the Board.

The Board has selected the individuals listed in Attachment A to participate on the working groups. Participants were selected based on their expertise and to provide a broad representation of relevant interests. Distributor representation covers the range of large, medium and small distributors. Ratepayer group representation similarly covers the range of large, medium and small consumers. A few participants have been appointed to more than one working group to ensure effective cross-over as required, while at the same time optimizing the efficiency of the working group process. All interested stakeholders will have an opportunity to participate in the RRF implementation consultation process through the other consultation activities noted in the October 18th Letter.

The following organizations that have been invited to participate as members of the working group(s) were determined to be eligible for cost awards in the consultations leading up to the issuance of the Board's Report: the Association of Major Power Consumers in Ontario, the Consumers Council of Canada, the Vulnerable Energy Consumers Coalition, School Energy Coalition, the Building Owners and Managers Association, the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association and the Association of Power Producers of Ontario. For these participants, the Board has considered it appropriate in the circumstances to waive both (a) the requirement to submit a new request for cost award eligibility and (b) the process for objections which would otherwise have applied in accordance with the October 18th Letter. In the case of working group participants that represent the interests of ratepayers, the waiver extends to cover all consultation activities identified in the October 18th Letter. In the case of the Association of Power Producers of Ontario and the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association, which are generally considered prima facie ineligible for an award of costs, the waiver is limited to participation on the relevant working group and any consultation activities that are directly related to the same subject matter.

The next step in this consultation process is the Webcast scheduled for the morning of October 31, 2012. A tentative timeline for the remainder of the process is set out in the Board's October 18th Letter.

The Board would like to thank all interested parties for their continued interest in this consultation process, and looks forward to their on-going participation in this important initiative.

Yours truly,

Original Signed By

Kirsten Walli Board Secretary

ATTACHMENT A

To Letter Dated October 30, 2012

Asset Redefinition and Regional Infrastructure Planning Process Working Groups

Working Group Member	Representing	Asset Redefinition	Planning Process
Ms Cathie Brown	Association of Municipalities of Ontario		X
Mr. Bob Chow	Ontario Power Authority	Х	Х
Mr. Wayne Clark	Association of Major Power Consumers in Ontario	Х	Х
Mr. Rob Cary	Association of Power Producers of Ontario		Х
Mr. Doug Fairchild	PowerStream Inc.		Х
Ms Lyla Garzouzi	Hydro One Networks Inc.		Х
Ms Julie Girvan	Consumers Council of Canada		Х
Ms Mary Jo Corkum	Milton Hydro Distribution Inc.		Х
Mr. Kazi Marouf	Guelph Hydro Electric Systems Inc.	Х	Х
Mr. Robert Mace	Thunder Bay Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc.	Х	Х
Mr. George Shaparew	Innisfil Hydro Distribution Systems Limited		Х
Mr. Bing Young	Hydro One Networks Inc.	Х	Х
Ms Marcie Zajdeman	Great Lakes Power Transmission Inc.	Х	Х
Mr. Jim Butler	Horizon Utilities Corporation	Х	
Mr. Bill Harper	Vulnerable Energy Consumers Coalition	Х	

Working Group Member	Representing
Mr. Doug Bradbury	Canadian Niagara Power Inc.
Ms Kim Brooks	Orangeville Hydro Limited
Mr. Bill Bennett	Hydro Ottawa Limited
Mr. Dan Charron	Entegrus Powerlines Inc.
Mr. Wayne Clark	Association of Major Power Consumers in Ontario
Ms Lyla Garzouzi	Hydro One Networks Inc.
Ms Julie Girvan	Consumers Council of Canada
Mr. Bill Harper	Vulnerable Energy Consumers Coalition
Mr. Robert Mace	Thunder Bay Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc.
Mr. Bruno Pereira	Milton Hydro Distribution Inc.
Mr. Daniel Roberge	Horizon Utilities Corporation

Distribution Network Investment Planning Working Group

Smart Grid Working Group

Working Group Member	Representing
Mr. John Aseerwatham	Innisfil Hydro Distribution Systems Limited
Mr. Mike Abraham	Measurement Canada
Mr. Dan Charron	Entegrus Powerlines Inc.
Mr. Wayne Clark	Association of Major Power Consumers in Ontario
Mr. Alan Clarke	Energate
Mr. Gord Ellis	Energent
Mr. Gary Ebersberger	Kinetrics Inc.
Ms Marion Fraser	Ontario Sustainable Energy Association
Mr. Ric Forster	Direct Energy
Ms Nancy Hanna	Electrical Safety Authority
Mr. Greg Henry	Telvent
Mr. Michael Knox	Cambridge and North Dumfries Hydro Inc.
Ms Helen Lainis	Independent Electricity System Operator
Ms Nancy Marconi	Ontario Power Authority
Mr. John Mulrooney	PowerStream Inc.
Mr. Kevin McCauley	Kingston Hydro Corporation
Mr. Bruce Orloff	IBM
Mr. Phil Petsinis	General Motors of Canada (part-time)
Mr. Scott Rouse	Building Owners and Managers Association
Mr. Bruce Rodin	Bell Canada
Mr. Ravi Seethapathy	Hydro One Networks Inc.
Mr. Axel Starck	Veridian Connections Inc.
Mr. Jac Vanderbaan	Festival Hydro Inc.
Ms Andrea Vargas	Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited
Mr. Bala Vinayagam	GE Digital Energy Smart Substations
Mr. Jim Walsh	Honeywell

Performance, Benchmarking, and Rate Adjustment Indices Working Group

Working Group Member	Representing
Mr. Carm Altomare	Hydro One Networks Inc.
Ms Chris Amos	Waterloo North Hydro Inc.
Mr. Doug Bradbury	Canadian Niagara Power Inc.
Mr. Wayne Clark	Association of Major Power Consumers in Ontario
Ms Julie Girvan	Consumers Council of Canada
Mr. Bill Harper	Vulnerable Energy Consumers Coalition
Ms Judy Kwik	Power Workers' Union
Mr. Colin McLorg	Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited
Mr. George Shaparew	Innisfil Hydro Distribution Systems Limited
Ms Jane Scott	Hydro Ottawa Limited
Mr. Jay Shepherd	School Energy Coalition
Mr. Maurice Tucci	Electricity Distributors Association